Financial Report for the year ended December 31, 2011

2012-11-06

Presented on November 5, 2012 by Mayor William Steinberg

In compliance with Article 474.1 of the Cities and Towns Act it is my pleasure to present the annual report on the financial situation of the Town of Hampstead. This report includes:

  1. Highlights of the 2011 Financial Statements
  2. Three-year program of capital expenditures
  3. Preliminary information regarding the financial situation for 2012
  4. General orientation for the 2013 budget
  5. Remuneration of elected officers
  6. List of all contracts involving an expenditure exceeding $25,000
  7. Final Words


Highlights of the 2011 Financial Statements

The financial statements for 2011 were audited by the Town’s external auditors “Goudreau Poirier”, who confirmed that these portrayed, in all important aspects, a true picture of the financial situation of the municipality for the fiscal year ended December 31st, 2011. Their report was tabled at the Regular Meeting of the Town Council held on Monday, July 9, 2012.

Unrestricted operating surplus
Per the 2011 Financial Statements, the surplus for the 2011 fiscal year was $601.9 thousand made up of an operational surplus of $256.0 thousand plus another $345.9 thousand for items not related to operations.

This amount was added to the accumulated surplus from which the following were appropriated:

  • $150 thousand for operating activities and
  • $350 thousand for capital asset activities.

Taking into consideration the Town’s working fund of $128.7 thousand, the overall accumulated surplus is $1.72M.

Long-term debt
At the end of 2011 the Town of Hampstead’s debt stood at $13,57 M. From this amount a net debt figure of $12.73 M results when we net out the grants to be received for certain projects.

MATURITY AMOUNT
2012 $ 811,900
2013 $ 775,700
2014 $ 809,400
2015 $ 845,000
2016 $ 881,700
2017 and + $ 9,448,100
TOTAL $ 13,571,800
GRANTS TO BE RECEIVED ( $ 844,032)
TOTAL NET LONG-TERM DEBT $ 12,727,768

 

Per the latest MAMROT statistics, Hampstead debt service ratio for 2011 stood at 8.06%. The average debt service ratio for other municipalities with a comparable population range in the agglomeration of Montreal was at 12.46%.

Capital expenditures
As the restoration of our infrastructures remains one of the top priorities, capital expenditures in 2011 totalled $1.2 M and spanned a variety of different projects, mainly roads & sidewalks and water mains & sewers.

CATEGORY INVESTMENT
Roads, sidewalks & street lighting
(Traffic calmer,sidewalk rehabilitation, Fleet road embellishment)
$ 708,332
Water mains & sewers
(2010-2013 excise tax grant)
$ 230,082
Parks & playgrounds $ 83,803
Buildings & office $ 63,510
Vehicles $ 56,688
Machinery & equipment $ 40,400
TOTAL $ 1,182,815

Pension deficit
With Hampstead’s municipal pension plan running a significant deficit on account of negative market conditions, particularly in 2008, council decided to contribute over and above the minimum legal requirement and injected an additional voluntary contribution of 150 thousand to the plan.

Overall, the 2011 financial results indicate that the Town has fulfilled its commitments with respect to the budget adopted and finished the year with an operating surplus of $256 thousand, and this, with the local tax increase held to only 1.9% for the average single-family home while the Agglomeration tax had a 4.6% increase.

 

Three-Year Program of Capital Expenditures

The principal investments planned in the current three-year capital expenditures program reflect our desire for a diverse and vibrant development of the Town. The projects for 2012 are nearing completion with some final work extending into the coming fiscal year. The orientations for the 2013 – 2015 capital expenditures program are being formulated.

This summer, Hampstead undertook the most significant infrastructure renewal program in decades principally on road and water main rehabilitation. Financing for these projects came from the $5.5M revenue from the sale of the MacDonald site as well as the 2010-2013 Excise tax grant program.

For a complete project list and status, please refer to the Town web site.

As in past years, a constant rejuvenation of our vehicle fleet, heavy equipment and computer hardware / software offer an enhanced efficiency of operations. Along with park safety upgrades which continue to be prioritized.

In summary, we will continue to focus on our longer-term plan to recover and build a renewed infrastructure system while ensuring that our Town is kept clean, attractive and safe.

 

Preliminary Information Regarding the Financial Situation for 2012

We continue to keep a close control over our expenses while maintaining the quality of services offered to, and expected by, Hampstead residents. Of equal importance, we continue to prioritize open and frequent communication to ensure that our residents are informed and involved in our many Town initiatives.

We expect that revenues for the year 2012 will exceed those budgeted. The main positive variances will come from sources such as duties on transfers of properties, interest on bank accounts and tax revenues generated from the Macdonald site’s new status as a taxable property.

It should be noted that a surplus amount of $389,600 has been reserved to settle the balance of the capital portion due per by-law 748 upon its refinancing dated October 28, 2013.

Further to Council’s decision to be more aggressive towards the pension deficit, an additional contribution of $127 thousand over and above the legal minimum requirement is being made this year.


The Director General of the Town in cooperation with Council and upper management is actively preparing the 2013 budget based on identified needs while keeping under consideration our resident’s capacity for tax payment fluctuations. The coming budget will concentrate on historically demonstrated requirements and the credit allocations will be in sync with objectives and key results expected from each department.

We will take advantage of this opportunity to review and assess requests addressed to the Town Council by residents in order to improve the quality of life in the community. As in the past, our objective is not only to maintain that which has been acquired but to go one better in response to current financial and environmental realities. The final results will subsequently be presented to you during a special meeting in December where the budget forecast for 2013 and the next three-year capital expenditures program will be discussed.

We will take into consideration all necessary priorities and needs not only to ensure a sustainable and beneficial development but to promote an enviable quality of life for our residents while controlling tax increases. Nonetheless, a challenge we are still faced with in the upcoming year is to manage price hikes occurring in such areas as the employee pension plan deficit, dumpsite charges for Town materials, fuel requirements, and to a diminishing extent legal claims due to water main breaks.

 

Remuneration of Elected Officers

As members of the Town Council, an annual remuneration plus an annual allowance for expenses related to these functions is received. This remuneration is in accordance with the provisions of the Act respecting the remuneration of elected municipal officers.

Title Town Remuneration Town Expense Allowance Agglomeration Remuneration Public Security Commission Remuneration
(note 1)
Mayor $ 31,744 $ 15,310 $ 10,551 $ 5,275
Councillors (6) $ 10,373 $ 5,187 - -
Note 1: Maximum remuneration to be received should all meetings be attended in the current year.


List of All Contracts Involving an Expenditure Exceeding $25,000

In accordance with the law, we have deposited with the Public Affairs and Registry Department the list of all contracts involving expenditures of more than $ 2,000 concluded during the period November 2011 to October 2012, with the same contractor when all these contracts include a total cost exceeding $ 25,000. This list shows for each contract, the name of each contractor, the purpose of the contract and the amount of consideration.

Appendix 4 provides the list details.

 

Final Words

Year after year the economic health of our Town remains strong. Nonetheless, vigilance and foresight are this Council’s raison d’être. It will continue to be so, in order to secure the quality of services and the sound management of public funds expected by our residents.

In order to increase knowledge of and accessibility to municipal life, we are continuing to develop our communication tools and approaches. Please rest assured that we will spare no effort to ensure that Hampstead remains a peaceful, happy, healthy, and safe community. Let us continue to build a better tomorrow, together. Your councillors and I sincerely thank you for your support.

And last but not least, the success of this Town is built on the contributions and hard work of its employees. I take this opportunity to emphasize the work of all our Town employees, the able employees at Town Hall, the blue collars who maintain our streets, the Recreation staff for our programs, and our Public Security Agents who keep our Town safe. I thank them all for making Hampstead the wonderful community that we enjoy so much.


Sincerely,


Dr. Bill Steinberg
Mayor, Town of Hampstead

Rapport financier pour l’année terminée le 31 décembre 2011

2012-11-06

Presenté le 5 novembre 2012 par le maire William Steinberg

Conformément à l’article 474.1 de la Loi sur les cités et villes, j’ai le plaisir de présenter le rapport annuel sur la situation financière de la Ville de Hampstead. Ce rapport comprend :

  1. Faits saillants des états financiers pour 2011
  2. Programme triennal d’immobilisations
  3. Information préliminaire sur la situation financière de l’année 2012
  4. Orientations générales pour le budget 2013
  5. Rémunération des élus
  6. Liste des contrats comportant une dépense de plus de 25 000 $
  7. Conclusion


Faits saillants des états financiers pour 2011

Les états financiers pour 2011 ont été vérifiés par le vérificateur externe de la Ville « Goudreau Poirier », qui a confirmé que ces derniers brossaient un tableau juste des aspects importants de la situation financière de la municipalité pour l’année financière se terminant le 31 décembre 2011. Le rapport du vérificateur a été déposé à la séance ordinaire du Conseil municipal tenue le lundi 9 juillet 2012.

Surplus de fonctionnement non affecté
Selon les états financiers 2011, le surplus pour l’année financière 2011 était de 601 900 $, soit un surplus de fonctionnement de 256 000 $ et 345 900 $ pour des éléments non reliés au fonctionnement.

Ce surplus s’est ajouté au surplus accumulé, à partir duquel les éléments suivants ont été affectés :

  • 150 000 $ pour des activités de fonctionnement, et
  • 350 000 $ pour des activités d’immobilisations.

Si l’on tient compte du fonds de roulement de 128 700 $ de la Ville, le surplus accumulé s’élève donc à 1,72 million de $.

Dette à long terme
À la fin de 2011, la dette de la Ville de Hampstead s’élevait à 13,57 millions de $. À partir de montant, on obtient une dette nette de 12,73 millions en excluant les subventions à recevoir pour certains projets.

Échéance Montant
2012 $ 811 900
2013 $ 775 700
2014 $ 809 400
2015 $ 845 000
2016 $ 881 700
2017 et + $ 9 448 100
TOTAL $ 13 571 800
SUBVENTION À RECEVOIR ( $ 844 032)
DETTE TOTALE À LONG TERME $ 12 727 768

Selon les dernières statistiques du MAMROT, le ratio du service de la dette à Hampstead est de 8,06 %. La moyenne pour les autres municipalités de l’agglomération de Montréal ayant une population comparable est de 12,46 %.

Dépenses en immobilisations
Comme la réfection de nos infrastructures demeure notre principale priorité, les dépenses en immobilisations en 2011 ont totalisé 1,2 million de $ et ont servi à réaliser toute une variété de projets touchant surtout les rues et les trottoirs, ainsi que le réseau d’aqueduc et d’égout

CATÉGORIE INVESTISSEMENT
Rues, trottoirs et éclairage de rues
(mesures d’atténuation de la circulation, réfection des trottoirs, embellissement du chemin Fleet)
$ 708 332
Aqueduc et égouts
(subvention de la taxe d’accise 2010-2013)
$ 230 082
Parcs et terrains de jeux $ 83 803
Édifices et bureaux $ 63 510
Véhicules $ 56 688
Pièces de machinerie et équipement $ 40 400
TOTAL $ 1 182 815

Déficit du régime de retraite
Comme le régime de retraite de Hampstead accuse un déficit considérable en raison des conditions difficiles du marché, particulièrement en 2008, le conseil a décidé de cotiser au régime au-delà du minimum légal exigé et d'injecter dans le régime une cotisation volontaire additionnelle de 150 000 $.

Dans l'ensemble, les résultats financiers de 2011 indiquent que la Ville a rempli ses engagements budgétaires et terminé l’année avec surplus de fonctionnement de 256 000 $, et ce, en maintenant la hausse de taxe locale à seulement 1,9 % pour une habitation unifamiliale moyenne, alors que le taux de taxe de l’agglomération augmentait de 4,6 %.

 

Programme triennal d’immobilisations

Les principaux investissements prévus dans le programme triennal d’immobilisations actuel témoignent de notre désir de voir la ville poursuivre un développement dynamique et diversifié. Les projets pour 2012 sont pratiquement terminés; certains travaux seront parachevés au cours du prochain exercice financier. Les orientations du programme d’immobilisations pour 2013-2015 sont en cours de formulation.

Cet été, Hampstead a entrepris le plus important programme de renouvellement de ses infrastructures depuis des décennies, portant principalement sur la réfection des rues et du réseau d’aqueduc. Le financement de ces projets a été assuré par des revenus de 5,5 millions de $ provenant de la vente du site MacDonald et par le programme de la taxe d’accise 2010-2013.

Pour la liste complète des projets et de leur état d’avancement, veuillez consulter le site Web de la Ville.

Comme ce fut le cas ces dernières années, nous mettons aussi l’accent sur le renouvellement de notre parc de véhicules, de l’équipement lourd et du matériel informatique et logiciel, afin d’accroître de plus en plus l’efficacité de nos opérations, sans oublier le renforcement de la sécurité dans les parcs qui demeure une priorité.

En résumé, nous continuerons de faire porter nos efforts sur le plan à long terme pour la reconstruction du système d’infrastructures tout en veillant à garder la ville propre, attrayante et sécuritaire

 

Prévisions préliminaires sur la situation financière de 2012

Nous continuons d’exercer un contrôle étroit sur nos dépenses tout en maintenant la qualité des services à laquelle les résidants de Hampstead sont en droit de s’attendre. Tout aussi important, nous continuons d’accorder la priorité à une communication ouverte et fréquente pour veiller à ce que les résidants soient bien informés en tout temps et qu’ils prennent part aux nombreuses activités qui leur sont proposées.

Nous nous attendons à ce que les revenus pour 2012 dépassent les revenus prévus au budget. Les principaux écarts favorables viendront de sources telles que les droits sur les mutations immobilières, l'intérêt des comptes bancaires et les revenus de taxes générés par le nouveau statut du site Macdonald devenu propriété taxable.

Il importe de noter qu’un excédent de 389 600 $ a été réservé pour acquitter le solde en capital du règlement 748 à sa date de refinancement du 28 octobre 2013.

À la suite de la décision du Conseil d’agir de façon plus vigoureuse en raison du déficit du régime de retraite, une cotisation additionnelle de 127 000 $ au-delà de la cotisation minimale exigée a été versée cette année.

 

Orientation générale pour le budget 2013

En collaboration avec le conseil et la haute direction, le directeur général de la Ville travaille activement à la préparation du budget 2013 à partir des besoins qui ont été identifiés et sans perdre de vue la capacité d’adaptation de nos résidants aux fluctuations du fardeau fiscal. Le budget à venir mettra l’accent sur les besoins historiquement démontrés, et les allocations de crédit budgétaire correspondront aux objectifs et aux résultats attendus de la part de chaque service.

Nous profiterons de cette occasion pour considérer les demandes faites au conseil municipal par les résidants afin d’améliorer la qualité de vie dans la communauté. Comme par le passé, notre objectif ne se limite pas à maintenir les acquis; nous voulons offrir encore davantage compte tenu des réalités financières et environnementales actuelles. Les résultats vous seront communiqués lors d’une réunion spéciale qui aura lieu en décembre et qui sera consacrée aux prévisions budgétaires 2013 et au programme triennal d’immobilisations.

Nous prendrons en considération l’ensemble des priorités et des besoins, non seulement pour favoriser un développement durable et profitable mais pour maintenir la qualité de vie de nos résidants en limitant les hausses de taxes. Toutefois, un défi qui se pose encore cette année sera de gérer les dépenses et les hausses de prix dans différents secteurs comme le déficit du régime de retraite des employés, les tarifs pour l’élimination des déchets, les besoins en carburant et, quoique de manière décroissante, les frais juridiques liés aux bris d’aqueduc.

 

Rémunération des élus

En tant que membres du conseil municipal, nous recevons une rémunération annuelle ainsi qu’une allocation de dépenses pour nos fonctions. Cette rémunération est basée sur les dispositions prévues à la Loi sur le traitement des élus municipaux.

Titre Rémunération de la Ville Allocation de dépenses de la Ville Rémunération de l’Agglomération Rémunération de la Commission de la Sécurité publique
(note 1)
Maire $ 31 744 $ 15 310 $ 10 551 $ 5 275
Conseillers (6) $ 10 373 $ 5 187 - -
Note 1 : Rémunération maximale pour une présence à toutes les réunions pendant l’année en cours


Liste des contrats comportant une dépense de plus de 25 000 $

Conformément aux exigences de la loi, nous avons déposé au Service des Affaires publiques et du Greffe la liste de tous les contrats comportant une dépense de plus de 25 000 $ conclus durant la période de novembre 2011 à octobre 2012 avec un même cocontractant lorsque l’ensemble de ces contrats excède 25 000 $. Cette liste indique, pour chaque contrat, le nom du cocontractant, le montant de la contrepartie et l’objet du contrat.

L’annexe 4 comprend tous ces renseignements en détail.

 

Conclusion

Année après année, la santé financière de notre Ville reste solide. Mais la vigilance et la prévoyance restent toujours de mise pour le Conseil, qui continuera d’exercer une surveillance rigoureuse afin de préserver la qualité des services et la saine gestion des fonds publics auxquelles nos résidants sont en droit de s’attendre.

Pour faire mieux connaître la vie municipale et en améliorer l’accès, nous continuons aussi de développer nos démarches et nos outils de communication. Soyez assurés que nous faisons tout en notre pouvoir pour conserver le caractère paisible de Hampstead et pour que notre ville continue d’être un milieu de vie agréable, sain et sécuritaire. Ensemble, continuons de bâtir un avenir meilleur. Vos conseillers et moi vous remercions sincèrement de votre appui.

Et pour terminer, un dernier point mais non le moindre : le succès de cette ville repose sur la participation et les efforts constants de ses employés, et je profite de l’occasion pour souligner leur travail. Les employés qualifiés de l’Hôtel de ville, les cols bleus qui entretiennent nos rues, le personnel des loisirs qui nous offre sa programmation, les agents de la Sécurité publique qui assurent notre protection, je les remercie tous de faire de Hampstead la formidable communauté que nous aimons tant.


Cordialement,


Dr. Bill Steinberg
Maire, Ville de Hampstead